Fact Sheet

  • Owned by Zeerust Solar (RF) Pty Ltd: shareholders include IDEAS Fund managed by Old Mutual (SA) Ltd, Reatile Solar Power (RF) (Pty) Ltd, Phakwe Solar (RF) (Pty) Ltd, AREP (African Rainbow Energy and Power), and Cicada Community Trust.
  • The solar field comprises 250 080 solar modules of 345 Wpk (at STC), and has an installed capacity of 75 MW.
  • It is situated in the Ramotshere Moiloa Local Municipality, within the town of Zeerust in the North West Province, and spans 179 hectares.
  • Land: Situated within the town of Zeerust, on two farms, namely, Portion 15 of Farm Kameeldoorn 271-JP (Keulder) and Portion 14 of Farm Kruisrivier 270-JP (Ikageng Trust) within the Ramotshere Moiloa Local Municipality.
  • Zeerust Solar received Environmental Authorisation in August 2014.
  • Construction of the solar field commenced in January 2019.
  • Commercial Operation Date was achieved in January 2021.
  • Engineering, Procurement and Construction Contractor: Istoguard PTY LTD.
  • Operations & Maintenance Contractor: Istofon PTY LTD.
  • The solar field is connected to the Kameeldoorn switching station. It generates approximately 75 MW of clean, renewable energy to the national grid, addressing the ongoing and increasing need for electricity in South Africa.
  • The solar field produces enough green electricity to supply approximately 75 000 medium-sized South African homes, and in so doing avoids approximately 125 000 tonnes of carbon emissions each year when compared to traditional fossil fuel power fields.
  • Zeerust Solar positively impacts the communities in the Ramotshere Moiloa Local Municipal area, including Zeerust, Ikageleng, Henryville, Olienhout Park, Shalimar Park, Welbedacht (Lehurutshe Town) and Groot Marico, as well as 40 villages located within the municipal area.

Contact us

National Enquiries

021 670 1400


2nd Floor, Fernwood House, The Oval, 1 Oakdale Road,
Newlands, Cape Town, 7700
Claremont, 7735

Contact Us